Internal Awards

Online Application

There are four major internal award programs that support research, scholarly and creative work at Kean University. They are widely known by their acronyms. The UFRI is the Untenured Faculty Research Initiative. The RTR is the Released Time for Research program. The SpF is the Students Partnering with Faculty program. The FFRA is the Foundation Faculty Research Award.



Two of the four major awards, the UFRI and the RTR, are released time from teaching programs.



The Students Partnering with Faculty, or SpF, is principally a summer research program.


The Foundation Faculty Research Award is a financial support program.


Finally, although this is not an internal award, faculty and staff should be aware of Kean University’s crowd-funding site, called KeanLIFT.